The Taser's Edge


a poetry
January 14, 2009, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Poetry, Religion | Tags: , , , , ,

This semester I am taking Introduction to Midrash with Rabbi Steven Sager.  His reading assignments are brief so you can actually enjoy them.  The other great part of short readings is that I can share them.  For the first week, part of the reading was this poem (if it has a title, then I don’t know it) by Yehuda Amichai, an Israeli poet.  You can read more about him here and here.  The main event:

I filtered out from the midst of the Scroll of Esther the sediment
Of crude joy and from the midst of the Book of Jeremiah
The wail of pain in the guts.  And from the midst
Of the Song of Songs the undending search
After love and from the Book of Genesis
The dreams and Cain and from the midst of Ecclesiastes
The despair and from the midst of the Book of Job Job.
And I pasted up for myself from the remnants a new Bible.
I live censored pasted limited and in tranquility.

A woman asked me last evening on the darkened
Street about the well being/peace of another woman
Who died not in her time and not in anyone’s time.
In the midst of great weariness I answered her:
She is well/at peace, she is well/at peace.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

