The Taser's Edge


Tuesday Reading Roundup

It’s here again already??  I really do want to write my loving audience something interesting, but as some of you predicted, the weight of the semester is affecting both the quality and the quantity of my updates.  Perhaps I just need lower standards.  Perhaps you’re thinking I already do have lower standards.

1. A Bit on the Side by William Trevor–Still plunking away, although I’m not actually sure that I read a page of it last week.  Tonight as I think on it, I am reminded of another amazing short story writer–John Updike.  Pay him tribute not by reading his novels (they are truly not his best work, despite what people may tell you) but by reading Pigeon Feathers, one of his earliest (if not the earliest) short story collections.

2. The Augustine Catechism: The Enchiridion on Faith, Hope, and Charity by St. Augustine–I hereby predict that this is not going to get the read or write-up it deserves.  Despite many successive weeks of good intentions, Hauerwas’ class keeps receiving less reading and writing time than it demands.  (The jury is still out on the question of how much time it deserves.)  What is cool about this book is that Augustine wrote it because a layperson asked him to.  Apparently, according to this book’s introduction, he was always really good about that.  Busy bishoping away (a job he didn’t want) and then he would give up what little free time he did have set aside for the studies he loved in order to help out normal Christians with their faith.  Name a bishop today who has the time or inclination to do that.  I hope there is one.

3. Church Dogmatics by Karl Barth–Yes, I have to have the whole thing read by Wednesday.  Seriously, I am just now taking a break from writing a paper on his theology of marriage, contained in III/4 but drawing on some of his anthropology in III/2.  Good to know that spiritual monogamy is possible within outward polygamy.  Gracias, Karlos.

I’m sorry, but that might just be it.  I guess I just had to clean up a bunch of my reading for this week yesterday.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hello, WHAT ABOUT THE GIGANTO BOOK??

Comment by bouquetofparentheses

I love “Pigeon Feathers.”

Comment by Denise




Leave a Reply

