The Taser's Edge


A Rather Intimate Affair

This morning, as I neared Duke’s east campus, some hair got in my mouth.  Wearing stupid mittens, but not nearly as stupid as the ones I would have to wear if I lost this pair, I couldn’t do much about the hair until I got off my bike.  Then I had to lock things up, and I was sitting on the bus by the time I could get to the hair situation.

I did that thing where you lightly grab your tongue between thumb and forefinger and then sweep across its surface.  And out came a hair.  But it wasn’t mine.  It was far too short and far too white to be mine.  It was Prudence’s.

Now to be clear, my lips have never touched that dog.  I am not a pet owner who likes to kiss his dog on the mouth or anywhere else, nor have I ever chosen to let her lick my face.  But Prudence is a dog who likes to leave her hair lying around, and I am a person who likes to leave his clothes lying around, and sometimes, as goes the saying, the twain shall meet.

And that, my friends, is the story I shall stick to.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

IX

Alien they seemed to be:
No mortal eye could see
The intimate welding of their later history.

X

Or sign that they were bent
By paths coincident
On being anon twin halves of one August event,

XI

Till the Spinner of the Years
Said “Now!” And each one hears,
And consummation comes, and jars two hemispheres.

Comment by David

David, I approved this, but I have no idea what it has to do with the post. What’s it from and what does it mean in reference to my hairy mouth?

Comment by tasersedge

You sure do seem certain of particular boundaries in your relationship with Prudence (I am thinking of the target/dog food story and your insistence that you and Holly are not her parents). Just admit it – you really want to be a mushy gushy lovey dovey pet owner like me!

Comment by Courtney

I like this story a lot. As much as I adore Prudence I wouldn’t want her hair in my mouth no matter how it got there.

Comment by Terry

Courtney,

I do admit that I have an emotional attachment to Pru, but it was because I knew I would form an emotional attachment that I didn’t want a dog at first. Taking care of her (as you know) is no real problem, but it’s hard to choose emotional attachments that you know will hurt you in ten years or so.

Comment by tasersedge




Leave a Reply

