The Taser's Edge


Gawn Countrye

I don’t know when I started liking country (and I don’t mean this).  It hasn’t been easy, because a single twang will usually start Holly hollerin’ (not literally) about how awful it is (the same is true of opera).  When I bought my first Wilco album, I picked Summerteeth because it seemed to be the least country of their albums at the time.  But by last year, Jenny Lewis’ Acid Tongue was able to be the first Life Changing Album I had heard in a long time.  For the last couple days, I’ve been listening to Justin Townes Earle, son of Steve Earle and named after Townes Van Zandt (and Steve, I suppose, surname-wise).  And now I’ve progressed far enough in my love for country to not really understand how anyone could not find this filmed performance at SXSW2009 beautiful.  (Perhaps this just means that now I am truly lost, but I’m not the only one who thinks he is great.):

Now just hoping Rhapsody will wake up and get his new album.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I really like that.

That’s not what I think of when I hear “country music” though. I think of Garth Brooks, Shania Twain–you know, what they play on country music stations. That stuff sucks.

Comment by Ben

Maybe this is Western.

Comment by Zack J.

“We play two types of music, country AND western.”

Comment by T Jarrett




Leave a Reply

