The Taser's Edge


Work Sheet.

Tuesday, one of the kids I tutor after school was insistent that we finish his homework before he went home.  It was strange, because I usually have to constantly reorient him to his tasks (even as I think to myself, “Wow. I’m glad nobody ever asked me to keep sustained concentration for 1.5 hours after a full day of school”).

It was only as we moved onto reading homework, and I glanced over his worksheet to see what we would be doing, and saw that there was space on this worksheet for the student and a parent/guardian to sign under “We have worked on this worksheet together,” that I realized what was going on in this ten-year-old’s anxious heart.  His parents can’t speak, read, or write English, no matter how attentive and available they are to his other needs as their son.

I don’t think I can overstate how impressive it is for a 10-year-old to start deciding that he must gain his education for himself; but I also can’t overstate how massive the obstacles are against him.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

